What I'm Learning

Think the Truth, Tell the Truth, Live the Truth

Patanjali lists satya or “truth” as one of the most important practices.  There is no way to move toward wholeness while caught in lies.  Ahimsa or “non-harming” comes before satya.  Truth cannot be practiced with ahimsa.


When choosing to communicate truth ask yourself, 

Is it necessary?

Is it true?

Is it non-harming?

For Patanjali truth has three levels.

 Basic communication in daily life, that is, telling the truth we see, what we feel, and what we need.  And we want others to do the same.

Integrity – internal honesty.  Doing what is right even when no one is watching.

Satya means “actively becoming the truth of the Universe”.  ‘Sat’ refers to the bedrock truth from which the Universe springs.  It is the truth of God. ‘Ya’ is an activating prefix in Sanskrit.

Living satya is learning to make conscious choices about truthfulness in daily living.

If you are living the truth, then you cannot lie – because you are the truth.

Mantra:  Think the truth, tell the truth, live the truth.


Excerpts above are from “Living Your Yoga, finding the spiritual path in everyday life”, by Judith Hanson Lasater, Ph.D., P.T.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s