What I'm Learning

I Am In the Circle, I Am Part of the Whole

My mantra for this day is “I am in the circle, I am part of the whole.” mala

As I was meditating on this mantra I was made aware that being part of the whole does not always mean being part of something positive.  I envision being part of a flower, the sky, everything beautiful but if I am part of the whole I am also part of war, disease, disability, that is a different vision altogether.

I have been trying to bring only positive things into my life but if I am part of every thing then there will always be negative as well.  I was talking to Christina, my yoga teacher,  and Thai massage therapist, she brought to light that it is our responsibility to be aware of ALL that we are a part of.  ALL that surrounds us.  Not being informed is a choice to be ignorant.

What do I do with this information?  Perhaps for today just realizing the shift in my awareness is enough.  Being aware will lead to choices made from a more informed place.

dalai lama“Every day, think as you wake up, today I am fortunate to be alive, I have a precious human life, I am not going to waste it. I am going to use all my energies to develop myself, to expand my heart out to others; to achieve enlightenment for the benefit of all beings. I am going to have kind thoughts towards others, I am not going to get angry or think badly about others. I am going to benefit others as much as I can.” ― Dalai Lama

Chapter 14 – Connection

Excerpts below are from “Living Your Yoga, finding the spiritual path in everyday life”, by Judith Hanson Lasater, Ph.D., P.T.

“We can perceive ourselves as separate beings or as profoundly interconnected with everything around us, the more we experience ourselves as separate, the more we long for connection.  We may seek connection in ways that are not productive, such as through drugs, alcohol, promiscuous sex, or damaging relationship.  At other times we may run from connection by being busy.  None of these strategies help us discover the interconnectedness of life?”

“Wisdom is the ability to see the connection of all things.”

From the Bhagavad Gita, “Verily, never was I not , were you not,….. nor will anyone of us bhagavad gitanot be henceforth,” This reassures us that our connection with the Universe has existed, exists, now, and will always exist.  It transcends the cyclic existence of birth, and death, and time, and the natural laws of space.  When we look inside ourselves for this connection, we will always find it.  When we can live with a deep faith in our connection to all that is, we fear less, want less, and need less.”

“Whenever you feel afraid, anxious, lonely, or discouraged, you have forgotten that you are in the circle.”

“Perhaps happiness is the state that we feel when we find what it is that we can contribute with joy to the world.”

connection to universe“When we embrace our importance, we are living our connection with others and the world around us.  In this state, we can change the world.”

“Connection is that process of knowing our importance to the Whole, as well as comprehending that others share this importance with us. When we do so, we are less likely to hate or fear.”

Mantra:  I am in the circle, I am part of the whole.

Leave a Reply

