What I'm Learning

What I’m Learning

living yoga

Part One – Awakening Awareness: Yoga with Yourself

Chapter 2:  Discipline

“Life is hard.”

“For as long as I could remember, I had spent my days accomplishing a series of “have to’s,” things that I required myself to finish before going to bed.  In reality, my way of living my life was unsustainable.”

“I have learned that discipline has less to do with accomplishment and more to do with intention and with commitment.”

“Practice, then, is discipline in action.  This is different from task-oriented behavior.  Discipline is truly expressed by my intention to stay present in each moment.”

My friend “interpreted discipline as doing what was possible with consistency.  I had interpreted disciple as quantity.  I came to realize her wisdom: Do what you can and to it fully.”

to do

Today’s Practice:  Commit to doing what is possible.  Make a list of what you have to do tomorrow; eliminate activities that are unnecessary and reschedule those that can and should be postponed.

Today’s Mantra:  There is enough time

……………..

Excerpts above are from “Living Your Yoga, finding the spiritual path in everyday life”, by Judith Hanson Lasater, Ph.D., P.T.

I read a chapter a day and write down what I’ve learned. Most statements are direct quotes from the book, my thoughts are followed by my name.

Leave a Reply

